Faculty Directory

 Request Advising

A

back to top

allred_thumb.jpg

Kelly Allred, PhD, RN-BC, CNE
kelly.allred@ucf.edu
407-823-0160
Office: UTWR 315 (UCF, Research Park)

  • Director, Traditional BSN and Second Degree BSN Programs
  • Clinical Associate Professor

Research ProfileCurriculum Vitae

Interests: Acute pain management and the effectiveness of nursing interventions in various clinical settings (e.g., orthopedics, pediatrics) to manage pain, including nonpharmacologic interventions to enhance traditional pain management; Interactive gaming and simulation as an educational intervention to improve pain assessment and management.

anderson_thumb.jpg

Mindi Anderson, PhD, ARNP, CPNP-PC, CNE, CHSE-A, ANEF
mindi.anderson@ucf.edu
407-823-1956
Office: UTWR 455 (UCF, Research Park)

  • Director, Nursing and Health Care Simulation Program (MSN, Post-Graduate Certificate)
  • Associate Professor

Research Profile · Curriculum Vitae

Interests: Virtual and game-based simulation; Standardized patients; Interprofessional education using simulation; Innovative use and evaluation of simulation technology in preparing undergraduate and graduate students for nursing practice.

andrews_thumb.jpg

Diane R. Andrews, PhD, RN
diane.andrews@ucf.edu
407-823-3084
Office: UTWR 464 (UCF, Research Park)

  • Director, Nursing Leadership & Management MSN Program
  • Director, Post-Master's Executive DNP Program
  • Associate Professor

Research Profile · Curriculum Vitae

Interests: Nurse satisfaction and retention in the workplace, including environmental and worker analysis, with a special focus on transition of new nurses.

aroian_low_ec.jpg

Karen Aroian, PhD, RN, FAAN
karen.aroian@ucf.edu
407-823-4290
Office: UTWR 434 (UCF, Research Park)

Research Profile · Curriculum Vitae

Interests: Immigrant and minority health across the lifespan (children, adults, elders), including self-care, health care utilization, parenting, and stress and adaptation; Qualitative and mixed method research designs; Instrument development for non-English speaking and culturally diverse populations.

 

 

B

back to top

blackwell_thumb.jpg

Christopher W. Blackwell, PhD, ARNP, ANP-BC, AGACNP-BC, CNE, FAANP
christopher.blackwell@ucf.edu
407-823-2517
Office: UTWR 453 (UCF, Research Park)

  • Director, Adult-Gerontology Acute Care Nurse Practitioner Program (DNP, Post-Graduate Certificate)
  • Associate Professor 

Research ProfileCurriculum Vitae

Interests: Health risk and provider attitudes towards people who are gay, lesbian, bisexual, or transgendered, including HIV/AIDS, sexually transmitted infections, anorectal cancer, substance abuse, mental health, workplace discrimination, and social inequity.

bourgault_thumb.jpg

Annette Bourgault, PhD, RN, CNL
annette.bourgault@ucf.edu
407-823-1055
Office: UTWR 489 (UCF, Research Park)

  • Assistant Professor

Research Profile · Curriculum Vitae

Interests: Critical care; Evidence-based practice; De-implementation of tradition-based practices; Verification of feeding tube placement; CORTRAK Enteral Access System.

 breit_thumb.jpg

Donna Breit, MSN, RN
donna.breit@ucf.edu
407-823-3758
Office: UTWR 435 (UCF, Research Park)

Curriculum Vitae

burgunder_thumb.jpg

Carol A. Burgunder, MSN, RN
carol.burgunder@ucf.edu
321-433-7855
Office: UCF Cocoa campus, Bldg. 3, Suite 336-B

  • Instructor

Curriculum Vitae

burr_thumb.jpg

Joyce Burr, PhD, RN, AHN-BC
joyce.burr@ucf.edu
321-433-7857
Office: UCF Cocoa campus, Bldg. 3, Suite 336-E

  • Associate Lecturer

Curriculum Vitae

Interests: Nurses’ coping and adaptation to workplace stress; Holistic nursing and human biofield therapies.

 

bushy_low_ec.jpg

Angeline Bushy, PhD, RN, PHCNS-BC, FAAN
angeline.bushy@ucf.edu
386-506-4032
Office: UCF Daytona campus, Bldg 140, Ste 308-A

Research Profile · Curriculum Vitae

Interests: Rural health care/nursing issues; Community/public health nursing; Cultural/linguistic competence; Qualitative research methodologies.

 

photo unavailable

Michele Butts, PhD, RN, CCRN
michele.butts@ucf.edu
Office: UTWR (UCF, Research Park)

  • Lecturer

Curriculum Vitae

 

 

C

back to top

Dr. Susan Chase

Susan K. Chase, EdD, RN, FNAP
susan.chase@ucf.edu
407-823-3079
Office: UTWR 465 (UCF, Research Park)

  • Professor

Research ProfileCurriculum Vitae

Interests: Decision making by nurses, patients and families; Faith-based nursing; Managing chronic illness, Evaluating educational technology; Qualitative research designs.

conner_thumb.jpg

Norma E. Conner, PhD, RN, FNAP
norma.conner@ucf.edu
407-823-2630
Office: UTWR 324-A (UCF, Research Park)

  • Associate Dean, Academic Excellence
  • Associate Professor

Research ProfileCurriculum Vitae

Interests: Hospice use among Blacks; End-of-life decision making and caregiving in informal caregivers; Health services use; Spirituality.

Additional Language: German

covelli_thumb.jpg

Maureen M. Covelli, PhD, RN
maureen.covelli@ucf.edu
407-823-4941
Office: UTWR 320 (UCF, Research Park)

  • Chair, Department of Nursing Practice
  • Associate Professor

Research ProfileCurriculum Vitae

Interests: Hypertension, including physiological and behavioral risk factors, the influence of birth weight on dysregulation of the cardiovascular system and development of adult hypertension, cardiovascular health promotion intervention programs to decrease hypertension risk in adolescents; Physiological measurements (e.g., salivary cortisol).

 

 

D

back to top

damatokubiet_thumb.jpg

Leslee A. D'Amato-Kubiet, PhD, ARNP
leslee.damato-kubiet@ucf.edu
386-506-4067
Office: UCF Daytona campus, D140, Ste. 309-D

  • Site Director, UCF Daytona Nursing
  • Associate Lecturer

Research Profile · Curriculum Vitae

Interests: Obesity, genetics and genomics; How technology influences nursing practice; Women’s health; Rural Health.

 deatrick_thumb.jpg

Chris Deatrick, MSN, RN
christine.deatrick@ucf.edu
407-823-5133
Office: UTWR 445 (UCF, Research Park)

Curriculum Vitae

decker_thumb.jpg

Jon Decker, PhD, ARNP, FNP-BC
jonathan.decker@ucf.edu
407-823-2696
Office: UTWR 448 (UCF, Research Park)

  • Lecturer

Curriculum Vitae

Interests: Childhood obesity and parents/caregivers of overweight children; Measurement.

decker-v_thumb.jpg

Veronica Decker, DNP, MBA, RN, PMHCNS-BC
veronica.decker@ucf.edu
407-823-5025
Office: UTWR 471 (UCF, Research Park)

  • Assistant Professor

Research Profile · Curriculum Vitae

Interests: Improving care and treatment for patients with cancer.

degennaro_thumb.jpg

Joyce DeGennaro, MSN, RN, CCRN
joyce.degennaro@ucf.edu
407-823-0105
Office: UTWR 458 (UCF, Research Park)

Curriculum Vitae

desmarais_thumb.jpg

Paul Desmarais, PhD, RN, CCRN
paul.desmarais@ucf.edu
407-823-2868
Office: UTWR 444 (UCF, Research Park)

  • Associate Lecturer

Curriculum Vitae

Interests: Cardiovascular disease and cardiac rehabilitation.

dever_thumb.jpg

Kimberly Dever, MSN, RN
kimberly.dever@ucf.edu
407-823-2632
Office: UTWR 463 (UCF, Research Park)

  • Associate Instructor

Curriculum Vitae

Interests: Child/adolescent anxiety disorders; Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD); Homelessness and vulnerable populations; Facial nerve pain.

diaz_thumb.jpg

Desiree Díaz, PhD, RN-BC, CNE, CHSE-A
desiree.diaz@ucf.edu
407-823-2634
Office: UTWR 472 (UCF, Research Park)

  • Assistant Professor

Research Profile · Curriculum Vitae

Interests: Using simulation to train health care providers to improve the care of underserved patient populations, including correctional health care and limited English proficient patients.

dichiara_thumb.jpg

Debra J. DiChiara, MSN, RN
debra.dichiara@ucf.edu
386-506-4044
Office: UCF Daytona campus, Bldg 140, Ste 308-F

Curriculum Vitae

Interests: Cardiovascular disease, including patient and family education and health promotion; Critical care. 

 duckworth_thumb.jpg

Nancy Duckworth, MSN, RN
nancy.duckworth@ucf.edu
321-433-7862
Office: UCF Cocoa campus, Bldg. 3, Suite 336-A

Curriculum Vitae

 

 

E

back to top

Dawn Eckhoff

Dawn Eckhoff, MSN, CPNP
dawn.eckhoff@ucf.edu
407-823-4940
Office: UTWR 449 (UCF, Research Park)

  • Graduate Program Clinical Placement Coordinator
  • Instructor
 edwards_thumb_ec.jpg

Joellen Edwards, PhD, RN, FAAN
joellen.edwards@ucf.edu
407-823-5440
Office: UTWR 473 (UCF, Research Park)

Research Profile · Curriculum Vitae

Interests: Health policy; Rural health; Women's health issues.

 

 

F

back to top

forlaw_thumb.jpg

Loretta “Lori” Forlaw, PhD, RN, FACHE
loretta.forlaw@ucf.edu
407-823-5234
Office: UTWR 424 (UCF, Research Park)

  • Clinical Assistant Professor

Curriculum Vitae

Interests: Resilience, including genomics/health promoting genes, in active duty personnel, veterans, and leaders in clinical settings; Traditional Chinese medicine approaches to weight management; Feng Shui in health care environments.

 

 

G

back to top

gonzalez_thumb.jpg

Laura Gonzalez, PhD, ARNP, CNE, CHSE
laura.gonzalez@ucf.edu
407-823-3372
Office: UTWR 420 (UCF, Research Park)

  • Director, Collegewide Simulation
  • Clinical Associate Professor

Research Profile  ·  Curriculum Vitae

Interests: Pedagogy, including teaching minority students and simulation for training and translation to clinical settings; Health disparities; Qualitative research methods.

Additional language: Spanish

Guido-Sanz_thumb.jpg

Frank Guido-Sanz, PhD, ARNP, ANP-BC
frank.guido-sanz@ucf.edu
407-823-1957
Office: UTWR 425 (UCF, Research Park)

  • Assistant Professor

Research Profile · Curriculum Vitae

Interests: Critical care, including health care associated infections, patient outcomes and quality indicators; Minimizing health care costs; Role of advanced practice nurses as intensivists in intensive care units.

Additional Languages: Spanish (native); Portuguese and Italian (average fluency)

 

 

H

back to top

heglund_thumb.jpg

Stephen D. Heglund, PhD, ARNP
stephen.heglund@ucf.edu
321-433-7858 or 407-823-1170
Office 1: UCF Palm Bay campus, Bldg. 3, Office 334
Office 2: UTWR 312 (UCF Orlando, Research Park)

Office hours vary. Call or email first.

  • Director, RN to BSN & Concurrent Programs
  • Associate Lecturer

Curriculum Vitae

Interests: Innovation in nursing education and practice, particularly in emergency care.

hill_thumb.jpg

Peggy Hill, MSN, RN
peggy.hill@ucf.edu
386-506-4048
Office: UCF Daytona campus, Bldg 140, Ste 308-C

  • Instructor

Curriculum Vitae

hoyt_thumb.jpg

Erica Edgar Hoyt, MSN, RN, CNE
erica.hoyt@ucf.edu
407-823-6459
Office: UTWR 447 (UCF, Research Park)

  • Associate Instructor

Curriculum Vitae

Interests: Emergency and flight nursing; Implementation of clinical simulation in nursing education; Community nursing.

 

 

I

back to top

iacobellis_thumb.jpg

Frances Iacobellis, PhD, RN
frances.iacobellis@ucf.edu
321-433-7879
Office: UCF Cocoa campus, Bldg. 3, Suite 320

  • Visiting Lecturer

 Curriculum Vitae

 

 

J

back to top

 

 

K

back to top

Jean Kijek

Jean Kijek, PhD, RN

  • Professor Emerita
kinchen_thumb.jpg

Elizabeth "Lisa" Kinchen, PhD, RN, AHN-BC
elizabeth.kinchen@ucf.edu
407-823-0247
Office: UTWR 426 (UCF, Research Park)

  • Assistant Professor

Research Profile · Curriculum Vitae

Interests: Holistic care; Preservation of core holistic nursing values in nurse practitioner care.

 

 

L

back to top

Dr. Patricia Lafferty

Patricia Lafferty, PhD, RN
patricia.lafferty@ucf.edu
407-823-5024
Office: UTWR 459 (UCF, Research Park)

  • Visiting Lecturer

Curriculum Vitae

lamanna_thumb.jpg

Jacqueline LaManna, PhD, ANP-BC, BC-ADM, CDE
jacqueline.lamanna@ucf.edu
407-823-3023
Office: UTWR 471 (UCF, Research Park)

  • Assistant Professor

Research Profile · Curriculum Vitae

Interests: Gerontology; Chronic disease management; Diabetes care across the age span; Transitional care needs of older adults and family caregivers.

landreville_thumb.jpg

Sarah Landreville, MSN, RN-BC
sarah.landreville@ucf.edu
386-506-4087
Office: UCF Daytona campus, D140, Ste 309-C

  • Instructor

Curriculum Vitae

Interests: Mental and behavioral health in children and adolescents; Leadership and professional issues related to novice nurses; Diversity, personal bias, and awareness.

 leli_thumb.jpg

Patricia Leli, MSN, RN
patricia.leli@ucf.edu
407-823-2996
Office: UTWR 303 (UCF, Research Park)

  • Director, Undergraduate Clinical Education
  • Associate Instructor

Curriculum Vitae

Interests: Critical-thinking & clinical decision-making; NCLEX-RN preparation.

loerzel_thumb.jpg

Victoria Loerzel, PhD, RN, OCN
victoria.loerzel@ucf.edu
407-823-0762
Office: UTWR 474 (UCF, Research Park)

Research ProfileCurriculum Vitae

Interests: Older adults; Cancer; Symptom management and experience; Representation of symptoms and illness; Quality of life; Technology-based interventions; Nursing student and lay person knowledge of cancer and end of life issues.

lopp_thumb.jpg

Linda Lopp, MSN/Ed, RN
linda.lopp@ucf.edu
352-854-2322 x 1382
Office: UCF Ocala, University Center, Bldg. 20

  • Instructor

Curriculum Vitae

Interests: Integration of interactive technology and creative teaching strategies in distance-learning education.

Photo unavailable

Michelle Lugo, MSN, RN
michelle.lugo@ucf.edu
321-433-7851
Office: UCF Cocoa campus, Bldg. 3, Suite 321

  • Instructor

Curriculum Vitae

Additional Language: Bilingual English-Spanish with ability to translate

luzincourt_thumb.jpg

Geraldine Luzincourt, MSN, ARNP, FNP-C, CNE
geraldine.luzincourt@ucf.edu
407-823-4510
Office: UTWR 436 (UCF, Research Park)

  • Instructor
  • Director, Community Nursing Coalitions (CNC) Program

Curriculum Vitae

Interests: Cultural influences on health promotion and end-of-life decisions; Family practice.

Additional Language: Haitian Creole

 

 

M

back to top

montoya_thumb.jpg

Vicki Montoya, PhD, ARNP, FNP-BC
vicki.montoya@ucf.edu
407-823-5075
Office: UTWR 461 (UCF, Research Park)

  • Assistant Professor

Curriculum Vitae

Interests: Chronic disease; Pre-dialysis CKD; and Patient education.

Additional Language: Spanish

Sarah Moore

Sarah Moore, MSN, RN
sarah.moore@ucf.edu
386-506-4050
Office: UCF Daytona campus, D140, Ste 308

  • Instructor

Curriculum Vitae

 

 

N

back to top

neff_thumb2.jpg

Donna Felber Neff, PhD, RN, FNAP
donna.neff@ucf.edu
407-823-5489
Office: UTWR 488 (UCF, Research Park)

  • Associate Dean, Nursing Research
  • Director, PhD Program
  • Professor

Research Profile · Curriculum Vitae

Interests: Nurse/patient outcomes and organizational factors; Partners with nurse researchers and clinicians in acute care settings to implement best practices based on evidence; Big Data.

 neubauer_thumb.jpg

Charlotte Neubauer, MSN/Ed, RN
charlotte.neubauer@ucf.edu
321-433-7921
Office: UCF Cocoa campus, Bldg. 3, Suite 334

  • Site Director, UCF Cocoa Nursing
  • Associate Instructor

Curriculum Vitae

Interests: Women’s health, particularly cultural influences and pregnancy; Trauma nursing; Life support.

 

 

O

back to top

 

 

P

back to top

 

 

Q

back to top

quelly_thumb.jpg 

Susan Quelly, PhD, RN, CNE
susan.quelly@ucf.edu
407-823-0645
Office: UTWR 428 (UCF, Research Park)

  • Assistant Professor

Research ProfileCurriculum Vitae

Interests: Childhood obesity prevention and intervention; School nursing; Teaching strategies in nursing education.

 

 

R

back to top

ricci_thumb.jpg

Susan Scott Ricci, MSN, M.Ed., ARNP, CNE
susan.ricci@ucf.edu
t: 407-404-6088
f: 407-404-6210
Office: UCF Altamonte campus, 426

  • Site Director, UCF/Seminole State Altamonte Concurrent Nursing Program
  • Instructor

Curriculum Vitae

Interests: Women’s health, including childbearing throughout the life cycle and women’s rights (e.g., accessibility and equity of health services, violence against women).

 

 

S

back to top

Frances Smith

Frances Smith, PhD, RN

  • Professor Emerita
sole_thumb_ec.jpg

Mary Lou Sole, PhD, RN, CCNS, CNL, FAAN, FCCM 
mary.sole@ucf.edu
407-823-5496 
Office: UTWR 319 (UCF, Research Park)

Research ProfileCurriculum Vitae

Interests: Improving outcomes during critical illness, including airway management and preventing infection; Assessment and application of simulation/technology and physiological monitoring in the clinical and classroom setting.

 

 

T

back to top

talbert_thumb.jpg

Steven Talbert, PhD, RN
steven.talbert@ucf.edu
407-823-2888 
Office: UTWR 431 (UCF, Research Park)

  • Assistant Professor

Research Profile Curriculum Vitae

Interests: Trauma, emergency and transport services, and clinical decision support, particularly the use of computer-assisted trauma triage and informational/system support for nurses making time-critical decisions.

thiamwong_thumb.jpg

Ladda Thiamwong, PhD, RN
ladda.thiamwong@ucf.edu
407-823-5091
Office: UTWR 433 (UCF, Research Park)

  • Assistant Professor

Research ProfileCurriculum Vitae

Interests: Healthy aging; fall prevention in older adults; and aging education.

Additional Languages: Thai (native); Lao or Laotian (average fluency).

turnage_thumb.jpg

Dawn Turnage, DNP, ARNP, FNP-BC
dawn.turnage@ucf.edu
t: 407-582-5647
f: 407-582-5503
Office: UCF Valencia West, Bldg. 3, Room 140

  • Site Director, UCF/Valencia College Concurrent Nursing Program
  • Lecturer
  • GNSA Liaison

Curriculum Vitae

Interests: Immunizations, including immunosuppressed populations; evidence-based practice; the DNP role in implementing process improvement.

 

 

U

back to top

upvall_thumb.jpg

Michele Upvall, PhD, RN, CNE, FAAN
michele.upvall@ucf.edu
407-823-4185
Office: UTWR 475 (UCF, Research Park)

  • Director, Nurse Educator Program (MSN, Post-Graduate Certificate)
  • Professor

Research ProfileCurriculum Vitae

Interests: Global health issues; Development of nursing education programs worldwide through global health nursing partnerships; Rising levels of obesity and non-communicable diseases worldwide; Evaluating nurse practitioner’s counseling practices related to physical activity.

 

 

V

back to top

valenti_thumb.jpg

Michael Valenti, PhD, RN
michael.valenti@ucf.edu
407-823-5848
Office: UTWR 487 (UCF, Research Park)

  • Assistant Professor

Research Profile Curriculum Vitae

Interests: Geriatric mental health.

 

 

W

back to top

weiss_thumb

Josie A. Weiss, PhD, RN, FNP-BC, PNP-BC, ANP-BC, FNAP, FAANP
josie.weiss@ucf.edu
407-823-2198
Office: UTWR 454 (UCF, Research Park)

  • Director, Family Nurse Practitioner and Adult-Gerontology Primary Care Nurse Practitioner Programs (Post-Graduate Certificates)
  • Director, Advanced Practice DNP Program (post-MSN clinical track)
  • Associate Professor

Research Profile · Curriculum Vitae

Interests: Decision making in vulnerable populations with a particular interest in teen pregnancy prevention in rural populations.

welch_low_ec.jpg

Gregory F. Welch, PhD (Computer Science)
welch@ucf.edu
407-796-2823
Office: UTWR 612 (UCF, Research Park)

Research ProfileCurriculum Vitae

Interests: Virtual and augmented reality; human tracking systems; and human surrogates for training and telepresence.

winchoba_thumb.jpg

Suzanne Winchoba, MSN, RN
suzanne.winchoba@ucf.edu
407-582-1648
Office: UCF Valencia West (Bldg. 3, Room 121)

  • Instructor

Curriculum Vitae

wink_low_ec.jpg

Diane M. Wink, EdD, ARNP, FNP-BC, FAANP
wink@knights.ucf.edu

  • Professor Emerita

Interests: Chronic illness; Clinical teaching; Lifelong learning; and Promotion of professional publication.

 

 

X

back to top

 

 

Y

back to top

 

 

Z

back to top